Tom Mayes

Class I (2005)


Tom serves as Professor and Chair of the Department of Pediatrics at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. A member of the UTHSCSA Faculty since 1994, he has served in a number of key leadership positions in the School of Medicine and affiliated hospitals including Interim Dean of the Medical School, Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs, President/CEO of University Physicians Group, Medical Director of the Pediatric ICU's at University Hospital and CHRISTUS Santa Rosa Children's Hospital, Executive Director of UT Medicine-San Antonio and Physician-in-Chief of CHRISTUS Santa Rosa Children's Hospital.

A native of El Paso, Texas, Tom received his B.S. in Biology from Baylor University, his M.D. from Georgetown University, and his M.B.A. from the University of Texas in San Antonio. Prior to joining the Health Science Center, Tom served as an active duty Air Force physician at Wilford Hall Medical Center in San Antonio.

Current and past non-profit board memberships include The Children's Bereavement Center of South Texas, Board of Governors of the Cancer Therapy Research Center, University Health System Foundation, San Antonio Medical Foundation, United Way of San Antonio and Bexar County, HeartGift San Antonio, and the HeartGift Foundation. He was an inaugural class member of the Masters Leadership Program of San Antonio and Bexar County where he now serves on the Board of Directors.